Mission Objective: A New Perspective

 

It was 6:30AM and my alarm was blaring.

One look out my window confirmed exactly what I already knew… I did not want to do life today.

It was pitch-black outside and I knew that the second I slipped out from under my covers I would be welcomed by cold hard-wood floors and a mopey family.

I can’t say that I blame my family for being a little sad… to be honest, I didn’t want me to leave either!

But, I put on my big-girl pants, finished packing my stuff, and jumped in the car.

I was headed, yet again, to the ever-lovely ice park commonly referred to as Minnesota.

I love flying. I love travel. I love the window-seat. I love watching the clouds fade away under my seat as I rise 10’s of thousands of feet into the atmosphere. But today? I didn’t love any of it.

Even as I sit here typing this, waiting on the airport staff to finish prepping my plane for take-off, I know in my heart that I don’t want to get on that plane. I don’t want to go to school. I don’t want to go back to Minnesota. I just want to turn around, walk out, and call a cab to go home.

But, in the midst of all my internal resistance, I am constantly reminding myself of this one thing: I have a very big God who is always by my side. He is faithful and He loves me.

I’ve even gotten into the habit over the past hour or so of reciting that in my mind whenever I start to feel mopey or depressed. I stop whatever I’m doing, close my eyes, and say it again: I have a very big God who is always by my side. He is faithful and He loves me.

I think that sometimes it’s important for us to take our thoughts captive. Sure, there’s something to be said for processing a situation and allowing yourself to feel your emotions, but then there are times when we need to tell ourselves how we’re going to respond. For instance, instead of feeling a certain way because that’s what our “normal” or natural response is, sometimes we need to say to ourselves “Morgan (insert your own name here), you need a new perspective”.

We need to start speaking truth over ourselves and our situations. We need to allow truth to dictate our response to situations rather than our circumstances. For, as the famous saying goes, the truth will set you free.

Random thoughts from my brain to yours on this beautiful Tuesday morning.

 

3 thoughts on “Mission Objective: A New Perspective

  1. Your post today made me think of this: Once upon a time in “the land of little” when some of us didn’t want to do something, we would put up quite a squall. Lip out, fake/real tears, floor roll, foot stomp, etc. We might have known not what exactly was giving us fits, but we knew we didn’t want it. We couldn’t yet form the words to express it.

    Time ran out on that didn’t it?! Now we know, and yes like you’ve said we have to find other ways to quiet the storms of internal unrest. Thankfully, I have my strategies in place. Firstly, as my beloved Mother used to say: “Don’t bite off more than you can chew,” I’m careful biting off without first considering all the pros and cons. I don’t make promises I can’t or have no intention of keeping, and decisions get mulled over a bit longer. Secondly, I know myself, and honor myself. And third, I choose to have peace in all situations, whether I like them or not. Freedom of choice is key!

    Being thankful and feeling blessed go a long way. When I do have to be brave and do something anyway…I bribe myself with a small reward!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you! Leave a comment here!

