I Came, I Saw, I Conquered… And Then I Quit.

For those of you who have not yet heard, I guess now would be the time to publicly release my earth-shaking, reality-altering news:

I am quitting college.Β 

I can hear your loud gasps of shock, confusion, and slight disappointment from here. No, this is not a joke – this is not a drill – it’s true.

Starting in just two short months, you can start calling me “dropout” or “failure” or whatever other names come to mind. πŸ˜‰

I think the hardest thing about making this decision was not the fact that I would no longer be receiving a degree, that I would be leaving Minnesota, or that I would have to say “see you later” to some great friends… No, the hardest part about making this decision was the realization that not many people would understand it, and learning to cope with how they would respond.

Because I’m a bit of a people pleaser by nature, it’s very difficult for me to make Β decisions that I know will leave some people feeling let-down or disappointed. But in this case? Totally and completely worth it.

Let me back this bus up a little bit…

Why am I leaving? Honestly, it’s been a long time coming, but the short answer is this: I was not made to fit into the college mold. I am far from normal. I never have been, and I surely never will be. And, while I am more than okay with it, this means that I have never (and will never) fit into the “normal” cycle of society.

Graduate high school, go to college, graduate college, get a regular job, get married, have kids, and then pay for your kids to go to high school, graduate, head off to college, get a job, get married, have kids, and then they pay for their kids to go to high school, graduate… Seriously, this cycle could go on forever. It is normality at its finest and, if you know anything about me, then you know that I can’t stand the idea of normal.

“Once in a while it really hits people that they don’t have to experience the world in the way they have been told.” – Alan Keightley.

I’m not saying that college is entirely useless or a total waste of time, and it is not my intention to inspire all of my friends to quit with me, but I do want to give you something to think about. Side Note: the following question that I’m going to ask you to ask yourself is for everyone, not just college kids. Ready? Here we go.

I want you to ask yourself this question: was I made for normal or was I made for something more?Β 

Pretty mind-boggling when you stop to think about the answer, isn’t it?

Well, I can’t tell you what the answer to that question will be for you. Maybe you were created (or even called) to fit into normal. Maybe normal is something you love, something that you thrive on, and something that is going to satisfy your heart. Maybe normal is normal for you and that’s not a bad thing.

But for me? I don’t fit in with normal. I don’t fit into the vicious cycle.

I am one of the dreamers. I was born to create. The desire of my heart is to change the world and to allow my experiences in it to change me. I want to be a writer. I want to make music and worship the Lord. I want to spend my time, energy, and money on the people I love. I don’t want to waste my time just barely surviving in some academic institution – I want to thrive in the freedom that comes with embracing who I am and who I was created to be.

So, yes – the rumours are true. I am going to be a college drop-out. I am going to be a failure. I am going to get a lot of confused looks from those who simply cannot comprehend my decision. And you know what? That’s okay. Because at the end of the day, what really matters to me is the peace that comes from pursuing the dreams that God has placed in my heart. What really matters to me is the pursuit of the extraordinary, and I would encourage you to take a good look at your own life andΒ maybe even do the same.

c176c3d7b8ce3e0beb75006b76b26f ...

So what do you think? Is quitting college worth the pursuit of your dreams? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

19 thoughts on “I Came, I Saw, I Conquered… And Then I Quit.

  1. This post is definitely food for thought. I love that you listen to your heart and I pray you achieve your dreams and you’re happy because that’s all that really matters.

    Like

  2. This is a nice idea and I support your decision in not continuing college. Its not for everyone and there are a million other things you can do with your life to still be considered successful. However, I would like to point out how privileged your “normal” sounds. Many people do not have the resources to even get to college. Honestly, I know these probably aren’t your intentions, but it seems like you are only considering what is normal for a small portion of society. I do not think you are special for breaking a “mold” that a large amount of people do not even have the opportunity to be a part of.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Julia! First off, I want to thank you for taking the time to read this article and share your thoughts on it – they are greatly appreciated! To address the things that you brought up: you are correct in assuming that my intentions in writing this article were not to diminish the privilege that it is to go to college or the value that can be found in an academic institution. My use of the word “normal” in this case is intended to describe the expectation that the large majority of our American society places on students to pursue higher education (this is evidenced by the many college fairs held in schools, churches, and youth events as well as the huge marketing net that is placed over students). You are correct in noting that having the opportunity to go to college is a HUGE privilege – one that I myself had to work very hard for – and that it is important to realize that not everyone has that opportunity. However, that is not the point of this post. The point here is to take a stand against the normal expectations of society (pursuing higher education to be successful) in an effort to show others that it is NOT the only option and that you can still be successful in pursuing your dreams using more, let’s say, unconventional methods. Again, thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts! I hope this helps clear things up a bit πŸ™‚ God bless!

      Like

  3. Sweetie, God calls us all. We almost never listen to that small voice in our soul gently telling us “go this way for a bit”. YOU LISTENED! What an incredible blessing for you. You will do wonderful things in your life and why delay things going to school when it obviously isn’t what lifts you up. Degrees are all well and good. They just aren’t for everyone. The most incredible person I ever met, one who followed God faithfully and well, was an inspiration to others who wanted to search for the love of God she found…had a sixth grade education. Follow your heart and you won’t go wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Suze! Thank you for taking the time to read and share your thoughts πŸ™‚ I agree with you completely! Degrees are great, but not for everyone and the pursuit of dreams looks different for every person. God bless!

      Like

  4. A wise Pastor once told me, you can never go wrong when you do what you feel is right in your heart. You inspire me to live out my own dreams at the age of 47. Be proud and confident of who God is creating you to be. He never is wrong and you’ll live a life of excitement, challenge and beauty following Him closely… and you will never regret anything He has called you to do. I believe God did call you to that college for a season and you learned and experienced so much. Now, take that knowledge and experience that He just gave you and Use it in the next season He is taking you to! We are proud and rooting for you! P.S. None of your cousins or aunts are “normal” either, including your mom 😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are far from a failure, if you compromised in what you believed is right for you, then you would still not be a failure, just unhappy. This choice was not an easy one , of that I am sure, I am also sure that whatever you choose to do day by day, you will do with the love of your family and true friends and most of all the love of God Almighty behind you. You got this girl! Of that I have no doubt!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jesus just pulled me off my tracks too. I had this big plan to go to France because I got a degree from a mission’s training school (What else could be next right?). I built this dream and started running and before I knew it I reached the end of my leash (praise God for that leash by the way). I looked up and realized I had compromised my pursuit of Jesus for the pursuit of ‘doing something’ for him. Seeking Jesus will often take us down strange and brilliant paths that the world will always question – whether they are too radical or too stagnant.
    I did enjoy your post and I’m thrilled you’re walking out this life in a different manner. I mean, gee, then Peter was a quitter too. He dropped those nets and followed when Jesus called. And the result was extraordinary.
    I’ll be praying for you as you journey on. Seek him!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t think you’re a drop out or a failure, I’ve left a college before and definitely didn’t see myself ever getting a degree, but I do want to challenge some things.

    1. Maybe you’re saying that the cycle is normal, but I’m not sure how you can see BGU as being normal? By the tone of you paper it can also come across that your saying that because we’re in college we are not ” one of the dreamers” or ” born to create” or that it’s not “The desire of our hearts to change the world and to allow our experiences in it to change us” etc. This was probably not your intentions, but I definitely first precieved it that way.

    2. Are you living for your dreams, what makes you happy, what’s comfortable for YOU? Abraham and Sarah knew what God had promised, saw a different and what they thought was a better way, and it wasnt what God intended. Not trying to be harsh, just some food for thought. I don’t think it’s wrong for you to leave, as long as it’s in the intentions of God’s best will and desire.

    Like I said, I admire your love and your an amazing worship leader, but this is what I gathered from your blog. Iron sharpens iron and I’m praying with you not against you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hailie,

      First off, thank you for taking the time to read this post and comment your thoughts! It really means a lot to me. I think you have made some really great points and would love to discuss them further πŸ™‚

      1) The intention of this article was not to bash the idea of college or anyone involved in it. It was simply written to challenge society’s standard of normality- the general expectation is for students to head to college right after high school, and those who do not are often frowned upon. I would definitely agree with you that BGU is far from a normal college, but I do feel as though it falls into its own cycle of “normal” that needs to be challenged in a healthy way. The use of the terms mentioned above was simply to describe myself and how those attributes of my personality affect my decisions – not to say that those who are thriving in a college setting are any less creative, passionate, or full of dreams than myself πŸ™‚

      2) That is definitely great food for thought – thank you for sharing! Perhaps I should have added an extra bit to my post about how all of these changes look from a spiritual standpoint… it is the deepest desire of my heart to follow where the Lord leads, whatever that may look like. In fact, one of my greatest struggles in making this decision was being obedient to His voice! It would make much more sense for me to finish out my time here at BGU, but He has called me elsewhere for this season and my intentions are to pursue Him in boldness and faith.

      Again, thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts! I appreciate your words and the heart behind them very much πŸ™‚ God bless!

      Like

  8. You only have one life to live. Live it to the fullest. Don’t live the way others want you to live- live for yourself and your dreams.(unless your dream is illegal – then don’t do that) πŸ˜‰
    Be happy with you. College is not for everyone. For some it is great. But you have had good experiences, you have experienced college. That is a great accomplishment and not one to just throw away. Be proud of who you are. Be proud of the goals you set out to achieve. You will go far in this world. Wake up every morning and look forward to the day… don’t regret it. By the way- the words drop out and failure are not words that describe you. They may become someone’s opinion or you or the situation. But the reality is– do you really “care” what others think? After all– you are not “normal”. Simply smile and say I understand your confusion, however I have peace in my ❀ . Love ya girl- you got this! Sorry for the long post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Please don’t apologize for the long post! I enjoyed reading every word of it πŸ™‚ you and Brian are an inspiration to my generation, showing people like me that it is okay to do things the “unconventional” way and pursue our dreams! THANK YOU!

      Like

  9. I have never had regrets about following my heart. Now, there have been times that it led me down not so pleasant roads, but even then…I don’t regret that I followed my heart. Life is full of twists and turns… Enjoy the journey! You will never make a decision that will please 100% of people 100% of the time. If you can lay your head down at night and be at peace with your decision that’s all you need.

    Be free, sweet girl. Be free.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you! Leave a comment here!

